To call or not to call...

fish dog

Personally, other then a pintail whistle and maybe a call or two on a snow goose call one in a while I don't use a call as I know I'm not good at it and I'm of the opinion that no calling is better then bad calling. I'm just wondering what everyone else thinks. Is it better not to call unless you're good or does some bad calling at least make them turn their heads and look at your spread. Sometimes, on the refuges, I have to laugh when some of these guys (maybe a good name fro them would be "quackheads" since they want to "quack" so much) start blowing on a mallard call when there isn't a bird in the air like that will magically make one (or more) appear. And, to tell the truth, most of them sound like someone's trying to drown a duck before it can get away, LOL. Anyway, what do ya'all think?

FredtheGad

Fredthegad
Fish I'm with U my calling aint worth a crap I get a few to come my way and others won't give me the time of day I try not to call to much but when I can get away from every one I do a bit more to try and pratice. I have had more than my shre of birds that I never see and drop right into the deeks with out a peep out of me. For me less is better.

Had a guy last year @ SJ hailing on a mallard call non stop for what seemed like 20 mins while a flock of about 100 pintails circled a big pond we were on Right as the last part of the flock had figured out they had had enough and were not going to land and were heading back to mystic I heard a guy in that blind say hey those are pintails and the mallard dude stopped calling long enough to hit a pintail whiste one time :smiley-shakehead-blue:

It drove me nuts at the time but afterword it was pretty funny :smiley-rock-on:

Skeet

buck feaver
I would have to agree no calling is better than bad calling. I do know what your talking about some guys love to call non stop.

Silver Mallard