Garmin rhino with huntingGPSmaps.com

socal duckie

2014 will be the year!
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
14,151
Reaction score
418
Points
83
Age
55
Location
imperial valley, ca
Thinking about adding another rhino to the bag of tricks..... Is anyone using the rhino with the huntingGPSmaps (onXmaps) ?
 

outdoorplay

Founder
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
15,963
Reaction score
359
Points
83
Age
52
Location
SoCal
I use the rhinos in CO, got tired of rookies getting lost, no I wont take a guy unless he has one.

its nice when they call you on the radio and say hay I got turned around and don't know were I am............


makes it really nice not have to look for their asss
 

socal duckie

2014 will be the year!
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
14,151
Reaction score
418
Points
83
Age
55
Location
imperial valley, ca
We use them in D12 ...... I know all the benefits of the unit itself.... Just wondering about the hunting maps
 

PORCH

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
243
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
Location
Hanford/ Central Valley
I have the hunt ca map on my rhino and am really happy with it. It's especially helpful if hunting a new area and the public ground is checkerboarded with private. Also shows landowner names. The other thing I like is that shows trails and forest service roads. And if your unit doesn't already have a topo map loaded on it that is I nice benefit too of buying the chip. I have found a few inaccuracies regarding which national forest I'm in but it had the deer zone labeled correctly. I need to contact them and see if they have fixed that so I can update my card. Hope this helps. Let me know if you have any other questions.
 

fishingkid

Active Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
586
Reaction score
28
Points
28
Age
33
Location
Canyon hills lake elsinore Ca
I have a rino 530 hcx I started learning it when first purchased then in the off season never touched it forgot everything. Got tired of messing with it loved the radio on it but its capable of so much more I really need to sit down and figure it out. I just ordered a new battery I figured the battery went bad it wouldn't charge wouldn't turn on. After spending $65 for the new battery I plug it in check back on it 2 hours later it still says 0% not sure what's up with it gonna try figuring it out this week. I don't have any chips maybe one day ill figure it out and look into the chips.
 

hatchet1

100% AMERICAN & LION KILLER!!!!!
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
13,445
Reaction score
1,267
Points
113
Location
THE BONEYARD...
Dude..I might be going out on a limb here...but I'd say its probably BROKEN..just my 2 cents..
 

socal duckie

2014 will be the year!
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
14,151
Reaction score
418
Points
83
Age
55
Location
imperial valley, ca
hatchet1 said:
Dude..I might be going out on a limb here...but I'd say its probably BROKEN..just my 2 cents..
I didn't know you were an electronics tech.... I thought you were a just a game whore?
 

fishingkid

Active Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
586
Reaction score
28
Points
28
Age
33
Location
Canyon hills lake elsinore Ca
Maybe... Worked fine last season left it with a dead battery and forgot about it til about a month ago. Still trying to figure it out thought it was just a battery guess not.
 

jedventure

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2013
Messages
107
Reaction score
2
Points
0
dose it have one of them little back up battery's? maybe that is shot and F-n up your whole deal. good luck.
 

2rocky

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2009
Messages
2,194
Reaction score
196
Points
63
Age
48
Location
North Bay Area
YEP Yep Yep!

I have a 530 and the ONX. I got the premium Nevada chip that has landowner names. Combined with the Mytopo GMU map, I know where I am.

I have the Alkaline battery pack and it lasts about 24-36 hours straight hours when I turn the radio off.
 

bearclaw

Three Bladed Penetrator
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
5,980
Reaction score
286
Points
83
Age
44
Location
South Coast Socialist Republic of Kalistan
The maps are great. There are a lot of spots I hunt that involve hiking around private property to get to the good public. I wish I had one years before.

The old man bought the rhino's a few years back and they are great for keeping tabs of the old fart!
 

Zach

Comedian in training, at least on the internet
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
3,037
Reaction score
336
Points
83
Location
Colorado
Another +1 for OnXMaps.
 

fishingkid

Active Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
586
Reaction score
28
Points
28
Age
33
Location
Canyon hills lake elsinore Ca
I got my rino 530 working again. Going to look into these onxmaps I currently do not have any chips for my garmin rino. I see you can buy I divi dusk states only or you can get the download version and put multiple states on 1 chip? What are you guys using? I was interested in buying 1 chip to try ( California) then possibly buy a couple other chips for out of state.are these chips easy to use on a garmin rino?
 

mjb

One life don't BLOW IT!
Joined
Jan 11, 2010
Messages
4,251
Reaction score
209
Points
63
Age
56
Location
San Diego
What about Trimble maps anybody compare the two?
 

socal duckie

2014 will be the year!
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
14,151
Reaction score
418
Points
83
Age
55
Location
imperial valley, ca
Looking at the rino 655t..... Figure I may as well spend the college fund...... I'm not going to college anytime soon.

What units do you guys have? I own a 120 already.
 
Top