Decoy question

Bigflip64

Reaction score
I know there's a million and one answers to this but, just seeing what you guys are using at San Jac and Wister since they're the two closest to me. Getting all my gear collected to get back into waterfowl....I just got a set dozen GHG mallards and I'm looking on info rigging the weights....what the avg. length of decoy line you guys using out there? Also what weight? Is 4 oz enough? Been eyeing the J-hook type weights, but not really partial to them or the TX rigged ones. Sorry for the total noob question, but the uncle I used to duck hunt with as a kid passed & no one else in my family duck hunts...so a little help would be great! Also I know it may not be a good year for water, but hey gotta start somewhere right?!?!

hatchet1

100% AMERICAN & LION KILLER!!!!!
Reaction score
way to get an early start on them ducks...october sure cant get here soon enough..

fish dog

Reaction score
I like the "j" hook weights with the shock cord. I tried that sliding weight texas rig (I think that's what its called) and ended up with a tangled mess. Some said I must have done it wrong but I followed the instructions I got on line to the letter. Still there are many that swear by that rig and I'm sure they'll chime in. 4 ounces is plenty and about 4 feet should be all you'll need, most times less then that would be okay but there's a few ponds that are pretty deep and 4 feet would give you enough scope so the weight can drag and dig in to the bottom to hold. Some think I'm a little weird as I use 20 or 30 pound test spectra, which has the diameter of like 6 pound fishing line, for my anchor lines but I think this is much less visible from the air then the thick black "tangle free" cord that some use. Word of caution with the spectra though if you have a dog you might not want to use it as it can cut the dog.

KID CREOLE

Reaction score
I would use

$(KGrHqF,!qEFG0jFkZ1kBRt16uQ75w~~60_57.JPG

And

lead-free-pyramid-sinkers.jpg

And