No luck...yet.

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Pulaski

Pulaski

• Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 27 November 2017 - 01:50 PM

As some of you might know, I am new to land hunting have been meaning to get out in the woods for quite a few years now. I managed to go out by myself at the last day of deer season (rifle) and it was a great opportunity,I did not see any dear but found and followed some fresh tracks.

During the Thanksgiving break I went out three times looking for quail and a rabbit. First time I went alone and then once with my not so hunting dog, and yesterday (Sunday), I had the best day with my son out in the woods. He has been doing some hikes with me to get ready and was really exited to actually go hunt.

We did not bag anything but saw a couple of rabbits, a couple of quails (near the campground) and spooked a doe near a water guzzler we found by mistake...the doe showed it to us.

Im having a great time figuring this whole thing out and can't wait to come home with some meat...i have been reading through the old posts learning as much as possible so it was nice to try and apply it all in the field.

Marcelo

Edited to fix some of my grammar

Attached Files

Edited by Pulaski, 27 November 2017 - 02:37 PM.

#2 sierrahunter1

sierrahunter1

Outdoors Enthusiast

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts

Posted 27 November 2017 - 02:30 PM

Keep at it!

#3 ivhunter

ivhunter

Sportsman

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 795 posts

Posted 27 November 2017 - 03:24 PM

Good Luck sir, it's always an extra bonus when you bag something.  cool looking dog, my only "hunting dog" I had was a yellow lab mix with terrier and he was a workhorse with no giving up. I miss that dog.

#4 ilovesprig

ilovesprig

"Custom"

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,226 posts
  • Interests:Hunting and fishing

Posted 27 November 2017 - 04:17 PM

Marcello,